I’m not the player I was -Messi

lionel-messi_416x416

Barcelona star Lionel Messi admits he is a very different
player to the one who burst on to the scene a decade ago.
The four-time Ballon d’Or winner has reached 300 games in
La Liga for the Camp Nou club and has earned 95 caps for
Argentina, despite still being only 27.Having enjoyed a largely injury-free start to his senior
career, the forward has struggled in the past 18 months with
some muscular problems and he concedes he must now
manage his body differently.Speaking at a sponsor’s event, he said: “I am not 17, 18, 19,
20 or 21 years old any more, when your body doesn’t feel
the strain.
“You get older and you feel it. Now I make more of an effort
to look after myself at half-time and be careful about what I
eat.
“I have changed a lot since I first started out. I’m more
mature and I have learned things both on and off the pitch.
Some of the old Messi is still here, but not much.”
Messi’s future was shrouded in doubt at the turn of the year
but the forward is adamant he is now happy once more with
life at Camp Nou.
“I feel fine,” he added. “I’m happy with the way things are
going.
“I want to keep helping this team. Last year was not a good
one for us. There were too many problems on and off the
pitch. But I hope all that changes this year.”

Leave a Reply

